Complaints Data

Our customers are at the heart of our business. We look to develop and maintain long term relationships with our customers, based on openness, trust and fairness in everything we do. We are dedicated to making our services smooth, streamlined and responsive for our customers and our products customer-focused.

However, we understand that there will be occasions when things might go wrong and when this happens, we want our customers to tell us about it. Based on the complaints received, we learn from our mistakes and try to set things right by improving the quality of service provided. Complaints also act as a valuable insight into what the customer expects from us. We strive to ensure that all complaints are handled fairly, effectively, promptly, and resolved at the earliest possible opportunity.

One of our primary objectives is openness and transparency with our customers, ensuring that all our customers are treated fairly and meeting the standards of our industry regulator, the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). In accordance with the regulatory requirements, we publish complaints data every six months. This is provided below:

Firm name: ICICI Bank UK Plc

Group: NA

Other firms included in this return (if any): None

Brands / trading names covered: ICICI Bank UK Plc

Period covered in this return: 1 April 2017 - 30 September 2017

 Number of complaints opened by volume of business 
 Provision (at reporting period end date)Intermediation (within the reporting period)Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage upheldMain cause of complaints opened
Product / service grouping       
Banking and credit cards 1.376 per 1,000 accounts N/A 334 360 12.77% 87.22% 38.88% General admin/ customer service
Home finance N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Insurance and pure protection N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Decumulation and pensions N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Investments N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Credit related N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A

 

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 334 complaints related to banking are from 242,697 accounts, which works out to approximately 1.376 complaints per 1000 accounts.

 

Firm name: ICICI Bank UK Plc

Group: NA

Other firms included in this return (if any): None

Brands / trading names covered: ICICI Bank UK Plc

Period covered in this return: 1 October 2016 - 31 March 2017

 Number of complaints opened by volume of business 
 Provision (at reporting period end date)Intermediation (within the reporting period)Number of complaints openedNumber of complaints closedPercentage closed within 3 daysPercentage closed after 3 days but within 8 weeksPercentage upheldMain cause of complaints opened
Product / service grouping       
Banking and credit cards 1.66 per 1,000 accounts N/A 410 413 15.01% 84.26% 42.378% General admin/ customer service
Home finance N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Insurance and pure protection N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Decumulation and pensions N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Investments N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A
Credit related N/A N/A 0 0 0% 0% 0% N/A

 

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 410 complaints related to banking are from 245,687 accounts, which works out to approximately 1.66 complaints per 1000 accounts.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 April 2016 to 30 September 2016

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 480 487 98.35% 57.90%
Investments 6 4 100.00% 25%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 480 complaints related to banking are from 249,055 accounts, which works out to approximately 1.9 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 6 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 October 2015 to 31 March 2016

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 527 503 99.6% 49.10%
Investments 6 6 100.00% 83.33%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 527 complaints related to banking are from 253,596 accounts, which works out to approximately 2.1 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 6 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 April 2015 to 30 September 2015

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 440 405 100% 61.48%
Investments 1 1 0.00% 0.00%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 440 complaints related to banking are from 252,299 accounts, which works out to approximately1.74 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 1 complaint on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 October 2014 to 31 March 2015

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 373 396 100.0% 42.42%
Investments 2 2 100% 50%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 373 complaints related to banking are from 255,422 accounts, which works out to approximately1.46 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 2 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 April 2014 to 30 September 2014

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 461 507 100.0% 43.20%
Investments 2 1 100.0% 100%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 461 complaints related to banking are from our 254,190 accounts, which works out to approximately 1.81 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 2 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 October 2013 to 31 March 2014

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 532 633 100.0% 66%
Investments 2 2 100.0% 50%

The table above is set out according to FCA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 532 complaints related to banking are from our 256,444 accounts, which works out to approximately 2.07 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 2 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 April 2013 to 30 September 2013

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 986 834 100.0% 56.24%
Investments 3 3 100.0% 66.67%

The table above is set out according to FCA and PRA guidelines for financial institutions. To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 986 complaints related to banking are from our 256,226 accounts, which works out to approximately 3.85 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 3 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: 1 October 2012 to 31 March 2013

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by
Firm (%)
Banking 500 522 100.0% 36.00%
Investments 5 5 100.0% 40.00%

To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 500 complaints related to banking are from our 252832 accounts, which works out to approximately 1.97 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 5 complaints on the investments side of our business.

 

Period covered in this return: April 1, 2012 to September 30, 2012

 No of complaints openedNo of complaints closedComplaints closed within 8 weeks (%)Closed Complaints upheld by Firm
Banking 585 597 100.0% 42.21%
Investments 4 5 80.0% 40.00%

To give you a better understanding of the figures, our 585 complaints related to banking are from our 254,768 accounts, which works out to approximately 2.29 complaints per 1000 accounts. We received 4 complaints on the investments side of our business.